Short Overview of Annapurna Conservation Area:

Annapurna Conservation Area is Nepal’s major protected area covering 7 thousand 6 hundred 29 sq. km. In the Annapurna range of the Himalayas across the Manang, Mustang, Kaski, Myagdi, and Lamjung district. The Annapurna Conservation Area has introduced in 1996 from Ghandruk a beautiful Gurung village.

A Short Overview of Annapurna Conservation Area
Village inside ACA

It is a pilot project assimilating nature conservation and sustainable development. ACA is the milestone in conservation history of Nepal. The local community is directly involved in the management of this project area. ACA has trust development and tested combined conservation and development project (ICDP) model of conservation. It has now become the role model for various emerging countries.

A special title of a conservation area was given to the Annapurna region by Nepal Government. In 1992, Annapurna region was notified in the periodical as Annapurna Conservation Area (ACA). Since then, the trust has been working in the area focusing on combined conservation and development programmers.

Diversity of Annapurna Conservation Area

Annapurna Conservation Area is the first conservation Area and the largest area in Nepal. It covers an area of 7 thousand 6 hundred and home to around 1 Lakh people belonging to different ethnic, cultural and linguistic groups. Manange, Thakali, and Loba are leading in the north. in the South where Gurung and Magar are dominant groups.

A Short Overview of Annapurna Conservation Area
meeting with local and ACA staff


The cultural variety of this Conservation Area is rivaled by its biodiversity. There is a treasure house of 1 thousand 2 hundred and33 flowering plants, 488 birds, 102 mammals, 40 reptiles, 23 amphibian and 332 butterflies’ species. The area is one of the most popular trekking destinations for visitors from all over the world.

In ACA local inhabitants manage their traditional privileges and access to natural resources. Security forces are not arrayed for protection of the natural wealth in Annapurna Conservation Area region. Tourism income is pressed back within the region for conservation and sustainable development activities.

ACA is divided into seven Unit Conservation Offices. Those are Bhujung, Sikles, Ghandruk, Lwang, Jomsom, and Lo-Manthang. Nepal Government extended the management of ACA, including the collection of the entry fee from tourists visiting the region to the Trust till 2015.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here